Hello Friends!

 

I know it’s been a while but today I had a lot of things I wanted to get off my chest.

Two unnecessary and tragic deaths occurred on US Soil this week. If you haven’t seen, the hashtags #AltonSterling and #PhilandoCastile have been plastered all over the web. These men have fallen victim to police brutality.

Now, let’s call this what it is, murder. This by all counts is murder and there is absolutely no justification for this. In both cases, the men complied with the demands of the police and still ended up dying.

This year (2016) only marks approximately the 136th death of a black male by a white cop and people still think this shit is a coincidence???

I for one am fed up. I’m done. I’m done with the death, I’m done with the ‘we don’t know the circumstances’, the ‘ but he had a weapon on him’ and the ‘all lives matter’bullshit. They could all suck on an egg.

What bothers me  most about this is not that this has become so REGULAR it’s frightening or that people still can’t acknowledge that this crime is purely not a coincidence but the fact that NOTHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT IT.

Now, I know Awkward Black Girl actress/director Issa Rae is raising funds which is great but I still feel like we can do more.

  • Warning : What I will say next might offend people so if you don’t want to be offended do not read any further.

When the shootings at the Pulse nightclub happened, the world was in an uproar. There was no trouble assigning the blame and support came at all fronts.

Celebrities, politicians and people all came together and went to battle the court to look over their gun laws (finally). Hell, even with the Brock Turner case a new bill came out of it to prevent the same thing from happening.

But where’s our support? Where’s the support for black lives matter? Where are the singers joining in song to mourn the dead, the politicians humanizing the victims and giving them proper respect, WHERE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO ARE DEMANDING THAT THINGS CHANGE?! WHY IS THIS STILL HAPPENING.

Because no one cares. I hate to think that but all the evidence is there. We have our group and we have our few allies but ultimately, black lives don’t seem to matter. Not to the entire world. I want to help in every way that I can but times like these I feel at a loss. Like if what I do or what we all do or say would even make a difference.

I can’t think of anyway to spin this post into a happy one so, tonight is a somber one. I can only wish for a better tomorrow because right now , things aren’t looking so great.

SB

If you would like to further discuss these topics or even have ideas on how to help out, comment below.

 

