Hello Friends!

I’ve haven’t written on here for a couple of days, I apologize. I’ve been in Ireland and didn’t have my laptop on me ūüė¶

As a black girl travelling I’ve only realized now how much time and money I actually spend on my hair and it’s A LOT. Whether it’s weave, braids or natural, a lot of time and money has been put into it. The number one problem I’ve had though has been hairdressers. Time and time again I always say that I would rather do my hair then go to a salon and my viewpoint still stands.

For a bit of context here, I’ve been natural twice. Once in 2011 and again in 2012. In 2011, I grew out my hair sans relaxer for a year to grow back all the hair I lost from relaxing. Then when the year was over, I started relaxing my hair again. This time though, I was less and less satisfied with ¬†my straight hair so I kicked the relaxer and went back to going natural.

I spent about half a year transitioning with box braids and senegalese twists but on my 18th birthday I was fed up of my relaxed ends and chopped off it all off. Funny enough, I didn’t regret that decision and now 4 years later and still all natural I think that was the best choice for me.

So far, I’ve learned to love my hair. I learned to love it’s kinkiness, it’s versatility and its thickness. The more I see it grow, the more I fall in love. However, I could do without the dryness, the shedding and those damn little ‘fairy knots’. Ugh.

Now, coming back to hairdressers. I’ve always had a problem with going to salons whether they did styles I didn’t like, charged too much money or were doing things that were downright wrong. I like doing my own hair and seldom go to the hairdressers.

In 2012, I remember going to the hairdresser’s to get my natural growth washed and trimmed and let me tell you, this girl had NO IDEA what she was doing.

She started the appointment by combing my DRY hair without any product with a fine tooth comb. Yup, a FINE TOOTH COMB . I was wincing the entire time. Then, she brought out the scissors and started clipping away, not giving any attention to the fact that one side of my hair was MUCH longer than the other. Shen then gave me to her assistant to wash my hair who was just as clueless as she was. She sloppily laid shampoo over my hair and scrubbed away then (which horrified me the most) after rinsing out my shampoo she was about to put me under the dryer with NO PRODUCT OR SHOWER CAP. Like what? I was terrified at this point but thankfully, hairdresser no.1 went over and explained to hairdresser no. 2 that she can’t do that. I was like umm? Do you guys even know how to do Afro hair? the entire way through and unfortunately¬†that horrible experience wasn’t the last.

Now, it gets me thinking… ‘who is to blame for this lack of knowledge?‘ I know I’m not the only one that experiences these things and I feel that as a society, we should dig down and learn more about our hair ESPECIALLY if you’re making a business out of it. Do we blame ¬†beauty schools for not teaching beauticians about hair care for different hair types or do we blame mothers for not showing us how to love and care for our own hair properly?

I think it’s a combination of neglect and just plain ‘idk’ going on there and ¬†if we all (customers and beauticians alike) try to stay educated in afro hair, maybe we will have less horror stories. I dunno.

But for now, here I am desperately trying to seek a hairdresser who knows what she’s doing and won’t ruin my hair in the process. Wish me luck.

SB

